The American Society of Cinematographers’ announced their nominations today, which will be presented on February 4th.

The ASC awards are a decent predictor of who will win the Oscar for Best Cinematography. Six of the last 10 winners of the ASC have gone on to win the Oscar.  

They also announced their nominations for the Spotlight Award. This award recognizes outstanding cinematography in feature-length projects that are screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited theatrical release.

Theatrical Release Nominations
Lion – Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS
Moonlight – James Laxton
Silence – Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC
La La Land – Linus Sandgren, FSF
Arrival – Bradford Young, ASC

Spotlight Nominations
Childhood of a Leader – Lol Crawley, BSC
House of Others – Gorka Gomez Andreu, AEC
Tempestad – Ernesto Pardo
Mon Ange (My Angel)- Juliette van Dormael