2017 WGA Winners

The 69th annual Writers Guild of America Awards was held in Los Angeles and New York City at the same time on Sunday night. 
Big surprise for Moonlight winning Best Original Screenplay. Most were predicting Manchester by the Sea or La La Land. Moonlight is in the Adapted Screenplay category at the Oscars due to it being based on an play that was never produced. It has tougher competition against Arrival, Hidden Figures, Fences and Lion. 

Kenneth Lonergan for Manchester by the Sea is still the Oscar frontrunner for Best Original Screenplay against La La Land (musicals don’t generally win for their script), Hell or High Water, The Lobster and 20th Century Women. 

Full list of WGA winners: 
Original Screenplay Moonlight
Adapted Screenplay Arrival
Documentary Screenplay – Command and Control


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s